USA 2020 Presidential Election Coverage – Battle for the White House

Picture: Instagram: @cnn

The world patiently awaits the news of America’s next president in a nail-biting presidential election involving Republican President Donald Trump and former Vice President and Democrat Joe Biden. The two candidates need at least 270 electoral votes to win.

At the time of writing this article, The Associated Press reported that Biden accumulated 225 electoral votes (49.8% with over 66 million votes), while Trump accumulated 213 electoral votes (48.6% with over 64 million votes).

Electoral votes explained

According to CNN, voting Americans do not choose the president directly. In fact they are technically voting for 538 electors who meet in their respective states and vote for the president and vice president (as written in the Constitution). The electors’ – who comprise the Electoral College- votes are then counted by the President of the Senate in a joint session of Congress.

Due to COVID-19, many Americans cast their vote ahead of Election Day, doing so by mail, which takes longer to count. This leads to the uncertainty of not knowing exactly when the winner of the presidential election will be announced.

Although Americans are not accustomed to waiting for the results, they are also not used to voting in the time of a pandemic. Some reports suggest the ballot counting may continue for days, even weeks after the polls close; so final results may differ from the initial vote counts.

So far, President Trump is the projected winner of the following states: Texas, Florida, Ohio and Iowa.

Trump is projected to win the following states: Alabama, Arkansas, Idaho, Indiana, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Mississippi, Missouri, Montana, Nebraska, North Dakota, Oklahoma, South Carolina, South Dakota, Tennessee, Utah, West Virginia and Wyoming.

Joe Biden is the projected winner of these key states: New Hampshire, Minnesota and Colorado.

Biden is projected to win the following states: California, Connecticut, Delaware, Illinois, Maryland, Massachusetts, New Jersey, New Mexico, New York, Oregon, Rhode Island, Vermont, Virginia and Washington. He is also projected to win the District Of Columbia.

More to follow.