CoCT Will Reopen These 10 Driving License Testing Centres

Source: Supplied

The City of Cape Town (CoCT) announced which Driving License Testing Centres (DLTC’s) will reopen and which services will be available from 9 June.

The following DLTC’s will reopen: Gallows Hill, Milnerton, Fish Hoek, Brackenfell, Parow, Bellville, Hillstar, Joe Gqabi, Gordon’s Bay and Kuilsriver.

The centres will primarily focus on the renewing of documentation, professional driving permits and working through the backlog of learners licence and driving licence tests. People will be allowed to pay their traffic fines, but are encouraged to make use of online services or alternate pay points.

New applications for learners licence, bookings for driving licence tests and foreign conversions of driving licences will not be available.

The CoCT reports that it has appealed to the Road Traffic Management Corporation for optometrist letters to be accepted and are awaiting feedback.

These are some of the measures that the CoCT says DLTC’s need to abide by:

  • strict access control at all DLTC’s, with only persons there on official business to be allowed onto the premises
  • temperature checks and hand sanitising of all persons entering the premises
  • regular cleaning of DLTC spaces during the workday
  • sanitising of eye testing equipment and work surfaces after every use
  • queue management and restrictions on the number of visitors inside the premises at any given time
  • all persons have to wear a face mask
  • learner licence testing classes at 50% of capacity to ensure social distancing
  • sanitising of learner licence testing room and materials used after every test
  • driving schools to ensure they disinfect their vehicles prior to tests and to be confirmed by the examiner

A 90-day grace period for documents, including driving licences, learner licences, PrDPs and vehicle registration and renewal discs, which expired during the lockdown has come into effect on 1 June 2020.